Tea

Dear Constant Reader,


Please click and nominate the Boston Babydolls for “Best Burlesque” and Naked Girls Reading for “Best Literary Gang”. Thank you!


It happens, from time to time, that even the most glamourous diva is felled by the common cold. Yes, I’m sick. Fortunately, I have leopard-print pajamas, high-thread count sheets, an advance proof of Victims, and plenty of tea.

It’s tea I actually wanted to write about.

I love tea and the rituals associated with it. And the food served with it. I prefer Darjeeling, with lemon, no sugar. And cucumber sandwiches (I’m a traditionalist that way). Maybe when I’m feeling better, I’ll share my recipe for scones.

The one thing that makes me completely crazy is those who call afternoon tea “high tea” because it sounds grander. Afternoon tea is the dainty meal with finger sandwiches, scones, and petit fours. It’s the one with the fine china and the good silver. Ladies wear hats.

High tea is more substantial meal, served as a substitute for supper. Common high tea dishes are Welsh rabbit, beans on toast, or scrambled eggs. Think simple, comfort foods that go well with a mug of tea.

High tea is so called because it is eaten at a high dining table, not because it is a high occasion. Thusly, afternoon tea can also be called “low tea”, since it’s taken at a low tea table. It’s counterintuitive, but there’s no reason to mix them up once you know.

I will be hosting an afternoon tea at The Great Burlesque Exposition on Sunday at 4. Please join me. I should be feeling better by then…

Published in: on 7 February 2012 at 10:30 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missminamurray.wordpress.com/2012/02/07/tea/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

