My Book Nook

Dear Constant Reader,

I love to read. I think that’s probably obvious. I’ll read anywhere — in the car, at the dinner table, in bed, in the bathtub, walking down the street, &c. I confess that at least once I tried to read in the shower (The Cider House Rules while vacationing on Nantucket).

This is my favorite reading spot in Stately Babydoll Manor: the chaise in one corner of the Library. The breeze from the windows is wonderful on these muggy days and there’s lots of light.

The chaise has occasionally been seen on stage: in The Wrathskellar, Unlucky in Love, and Tempest Storm’s Las Vegas Burlesque Revue (used by both Betty & Kitten De Ville).

Under that Indian bedspread is a plushy sheepskin that’s just lovely to recline upon, but it’s black and the Manor’s resident cat is white and very fluffy. Hence the washable cover.

Next to the chaise is an oak chest that Scratch built (I think without a single nail). It’s holding my current reading. Can you figure what book it is from this tiny picture?

Published in: on 14 August 2012 at 11:31 am  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missminamurray.wordpress.com/2012/08/14/my-book-nook/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I can’t identify the book, but is that an Edward Gorey cover design?


Leave a Reply

