The New York Burlesque Festival

Dear Constant Readers,

A couple of weeks ago I headed to Brooklyn for the 10th Annual New York Burlesque Festival and my first solo festival appearance.

Your humble correspondent hates to drive and will do almost anything to avoid it. However, I was performing my tribute to April March and that requires a large set piece (aka The Prop). There was no way around it — I had to drive. So, I rented a car and hit the road with The Prop in the back seat. Those of you who were following my adventures on Twitter now understand why I gleefully tweeted every time I found parking.

I was performing in the Thursday Tease Party at The Bell House. I’ll be honest with you; I don’t recall a lot of the show. I was either thinking about my upcoming appearance, getting ready for it, or giddy after it was done. I did hear Dot Mitzvah singing her operatic heart out with her award-winning “Glitter and Be Gay” number while I was backstage putting on my wig.

And then it was time for me to go on. I was nervous, of course, but strangely calm as well. The MC didn’t mention anything about the tribute, so I hoped the audience would appreciate the act on its own merits as a recreation of early 1960’s striptease without the backstory. The whole front row was photographers, it seemed. One of whom caught me unclipping a garter, as you can see. The audience was fantastic — engaged, cheering, easy to flirt with.

After my act, I headed back out to watch the remainder of the show, still wearing my wig. This was partly so people could recognize me and partly because I knew my hair was a disaster under there. I got a lot of compliments on the act from fellow performers (someone called it a “beautiful leg show”) and audience members.

And then it was time to pack it all up and head out. It had started to rain at this point and I am eternally grateful to the gal whose name I have forgotten who helped me schlepp my prop back to the car. It breaks down and none of the 3 component parts are particularly heavy, but it’s not easy for one petite burlesque dancer to carry all three at once. And as I said, it was raining.

I think my adventures on Friday will wait for another missive.

Published in: on 17 October 2012 at 4:13 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missminamurray.wordpress.com/2012/10/17/the-new-york-burlesque-festival/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

