What, This Old Thing?

Dear Constant Reader,


Please vote for The Boston Babydolls every day!


I wrote the other day of how I had the sniffles on Friday and was planning to take it easy. Indeed, I lounged on the daybed with Albert, watching old Law & Order episodes. But it’s not easy for me to just lie around doing nothing. When the inactivity got too much for me, I ransacked my sewing room, found some fabric I’d bought on spec, and tossed it in the washing machine.

Then I set up the guest room (where the daybed and TV are) into my auxiliary sewing room and ironed, cut, and sewed a new dress, periodically lounging, snuggling Albert, sipping soup & tea, and, of course, watching Law & Order.

Trashy Diva makes a fabulous style of sundress that I love to wear in the summer. I’d wear nothing but this dress all summer long, if I owned more than 2. They’re made of comfortable cotton and have great bust support, so no bra is necessary (a boon on muggy days). Sadly, I can’t afford a whole closet full, because, while Trashy Diva dresses are worth every penny, they require a *lot* of pennies.

My plan is to make a similar comfortable summer dress based on the Folkwear Blonde Bombshell dress. The one I whipped up was just to see how the pattern worked and how fast it goes together. Answer — fast. I started the washing machine at 11 am and probably could have been wearing the dress by 11 pm, if I hadn’t taken 2 hours out to watch a movie. As it was, I needed maybe another hour the next morning for the hem and hand finishing the bodice facing. Your milage may vary. My friends call me The Fastest Needle in the East for a reason.

I did wear it to the wrap party Saturday night and Stella snapped this shot. It doesn’t show me at my best, but the dress looks pretty good.

M2

Published in: on 5 March 2013 at 10:16 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missminamurray.wordpress.com/2013/03/05/what-this-old-thing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

