Busy: Sewing Edition

Dear Constant Reader,


We’re down to the final weeks! It’s your last chance to vote for The Boston Babydolls for “Best Theatre Group” and B.A.B.E. for “Best Dance Classes“!


The Sewing Room* at Stately Babydoll Manor has been pretty busy of late! We’re bringing a practically new act to The Ohio Burlesque Festival and It’s needed a lot of work. I say practically because we have performed it before, but all that remains is the music and the concept. Now it has twice as many dancers, completely new choreography, and new costumes.

And it’s those costumes that have been filling my hours. Fortunately, the new dresses:

were made by Marion at Vixens Ahoy. And I’m terribly grateful, especially since I know how little she likes to work in satin.

My job was to add the snap closures. Then move and resew the snaps. Add reenforcement and resew the snaps. Move the snaps again. For some reason, despite carefully fitting, we’ve been unable to get the placement just right. I think we’ve got it now.

And I was volunteered to make the belts. I’ll just say that for such a simple thing, there was more cursing than one expected. Let’s leave it at that. They just need snaps (let’s see if I can get this one right) and faux buckles.

And I’m making 2 of the bras. Betty’s got the other 2. There’s probably going to be a lot of hand-work on the drive to Johnstown this weekend.

Related to the show this weekend, in Pittsburgh, we sold almost all of our stock of pasties, so more of those is on the list as well. Yes, I hand-make all the pasties we sell.

M2
* Actually I do most of my hand sewing on the day bed in the media room. It’s air conditioned in there, I can watch old episodes of The X-Files, and there’s a large white cat.

Published in: on 17 July 2013 at 10:08 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missminamurray.wordpress.com/2013/07/17/busy-sewing-edition/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

