Kawaii-Me Fashion Event

Dear Constant Reader,

On Saturday some of the Boston Babydolls were pleased to take part in Kawaii-Me’s fashion event. Kawaii-Me (it means “make me cute”) is a charming little boutique in Union Square, Somerville. Scratch & I stumbled upon it last spring and were delighted by their beautiful curated collection of clothing and accessories*.

The fashion event turned into a huge deal — 5 shops/designers on the runway, an art installation, hair, make-up, & henna artists, photographers, videographers, and a DJ. And Scratch emceeing the whole party.

Some of the Boston Babydolls and friends were modeling for Kawaii-Me. We had our hair & make-up done by professionals, which was a nice treat. I was fully prepared to do my own, but they wanted a more, shall we say, subtle look.

Betty and Elyse (one of the adorable back-up dancers you saw at The Burren) modeled the “Hummingbird” collection — all soft pinks, ivories, and golds. Stella and I were in the “Color Blind” collection of black & whites. I wore a black satin blouse with cap sleeves and a goodly amount of cleavage. The skirt was full, made of black lace over a nude satin lining with a wide elastic waistband that had a crisp bow of the lining fabric in the back. Also, I got to wear a nifty mask of black lace.

There should be pictures someday. There were several photographers, including Cila, one of the hard-working owners of Kawaii-Me. I promise I will share when they become available. [Edit: some pictures of the Babydolls crew here and the whole show here.]

Lest you think we could be surrounded by all this fashion and not indulge our personal sartorial desires, we did shop a bit. Stella bought a soft pink frock with rhinestone detailing and a most fabulous hem, which one of the Hummingbird models had shown. I needed a new handbag, so I bought this one:

It may look simple, but the inside is packed with compartments and pockets. You know how much I love organization.

If you’re in Union Square, do check out Kawaii-Me. It’s a little hard to find, as it’s upstairs in an office building, but there’s a sign on the sidewalk. The collection is lovely and the prices are amazing. Tell Gaby & Cila I sent you!

M2

* I’ve since learned that we actually stumbled upon the shop before they were officially open for business and the dress I bought was their first sale.

Published in: on 17 April 2014 at 9:29 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missminamurray.wordpress.com/2014/04/17/kawaii-me-fashion-event/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

