BurlyCon: Shopping

Dear Constant Reader,

My last BurlyCon missive is all about the shopping! This year vending started on Thursday and ended on Saturday (that being a one day shift from previous years). So, I had to adjust my strategy slightly, but still making sure to snap up what I couldn’t live without right away and then troll for bargains near the end.

And here’s my haul:


Roughly counterclockwise:

  • A photo of Bic Carrol
  • Rhinestone pasties from Delilah: She has such a beautiful eye for color. This pair of pasties had been jumping out at me all weekend. You can’t tell from the photo how *little* the stones are. The photo above is of her gorgeous table.
  • Quite a bit from Atomic Cosmetics: eye cream & eye makeup remover because I had run out. Lemongrass sugar scrub as a gift for Scratch. BB Cream because Dr. Jen sold me on it. This is my annual chance to try out colors in person, so I got the Atomic Fireball eye shadow pallette, and Sex Kitten lipstick. I wanted to match my on-stage lip shade and this was the closest one. Now I’ll think of Kitten DeVille when I’m getting ready to perform and that’s a good thing.
  • A bow tie from Haute Under the Collar: Scratch has a lot of ties from Iva & co. and he doesn’t usually wear bow ties, well, *tied* ones. He’s frequently seen wearing one untied, like a Rat Packer. This Tiffany blue one caught my eye and refused to let go all weekend. I’m not sure if Scratch ends up wearing it or I do.
  • A necklace & earring set from C.O.C.A: I have a lack of red jewelry and a lot of red costumes. If you look closely, it’s a firebird. It’s also quite hefty.
  • Grip Strips from Beauty Butler: This is the new accessory — strips to wrap around brushes, pencils, and other round things, rather than sticking on a patch of velcro. I made some elastic holders for all my pencils, but I’ll be using these on my lipsticks.
  • A bunch of hair flowers from Gothfox: these were gifts for the Babydolls. I also got to thank the owner for her beautiful work (and quick shipping) on the demonic pasties the Babydolls were wearing that very weekend.
  • Foam latex pasties from BodyFX: how cool and unusual are these seashells? I plan on wearing them with my mermaid tail in at the pool party at The Expo.
  • A g-string from Juliet: Most of the time when you see me on stage, I’m wearing one of her g-strings under everything else (and if all goes well, you’ll never see it). They make a perfect Thong of Last Resort.
  • A hair flower from Amber Ray: This time I got a *big* one. Most of my hair ornaments are small and dainty (like me), but sometimes you don’t want to be subtle and this flower is not subtle. It also has a big-ass clip which I hope means it will stay in my fine hair.
  • I had the idea of taking a silly picture of me wearing all of this stuff, but it didn’t come out so well. Just use your imagination.

    This year BurlyCon also had a library of books, papers, posters, and other ephemera. I have to give a lot of credit to Indigo Blue and Jo Weldon for sharing books from their collections to the public (well, the con-goers, anyway). I’m not sure I could be so generous with the contents of my library!

    And now I save my pennies to shop at The Expo in just a couple of months!

    M2

    Published in: on 28 October 2014 at 12:20 pm  Leave a Comment  
    Tags: ,

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missminamurray.wordpress.com/2014/10/28/burlycon-shopping-3/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    Leave a Reply

