What Ever Happened to that Evening Gown?

Dear Constant Reader,

About a year ago you voted in my Dress Me contest and I selected the 1933 evening gown for me to make.

And since then, I haven’t done a heck of a lot. There always seemed to be a more urgent piece of sewing. And yet that pile of fabric just wouldn’t go away. It kept taunting my lack of dedication. This past weekend I buckled down to make the mock up.

Volia!

The real thing won’t be that hideous green. It will also be floor length. I only cut the skirts long enough to check the fit in the hips. It looks a little askew in the picture because I’ve folded the seam allowance in on one side, but not the other.

It definitely needs to be fitted under the arms and maybe a tiny bit of ease in the hips. Also, I need to find a bra that will work with that low back. I tried it without a bra and the results were not pretty. Also, I need to get up my courage and dye the silk. And eventually I need to pick a couple of buttons for the back. It could happen before next year…

M2

Published in: on 8 July 2015 at 2:59 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missminamurray.wordpress.com/2015/07/08/what-happened-to-the-evening-gown/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Sometimes I find picking up neglected projects to be harder than starting something new, so congrats on getting back to this! I look forward to your results, whenever they appear 🙂


Leave a Reply

