New Hanky

Dear Constant Reader,

Last month I advised you to carry a handkerchief and shared a few from my collection. Here is the newest acquisition:
Or at least one corner of it (plus my shadow…).

It’s shadow work embroidery on fine cotton batiste. Shadow embroidery is done on the wrong side of the fabric with a herringbone stitch, so on the right side all you see is an outline and the mere shadow of the stitches underneath. It doesn’t photograph so well, so you’ll have to trust me that it’s lovely and delicate.

I’m particularly pleased because I made it myself and it’s been a long time since I finished a piece of embroidery. My Unfinished Projects drawer is fuller than I care to admit and I’m working it down. In between rehearsing and working on costumes for The Wrathskellar, of course.

M2

Published in: on 18 August 2015 at 2:26 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missminamurray.wordpress.com/2015/08/18/new-hanky/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

