Friday Tip!

Dear Constant Reader,

Happy Friday! Here’s your tip!

Keep a snack in your dance bag.

You never know when you might be hit with a blood sugar crash at rehearsal or when traffic on the way to a gig is so bad that you don’t have time to grab dinner.

I like nuts because they keep well, are high in protein, low in sugar, and aren’t messy. I can just toss a small packet into my bag until I need it. Fruit is pretty good too, but it’s not like you can just keep an peach in your bag for a couple of weeks until the need arises.

Last year I shared my recipe for a nut mix. These days I make it with hazelnuts instead of walnuts and often cut out the chocolate. I buy raw nuts in bulk and toast them, but that’s just me. I think they taste better toasted, but some like them raw.

If you’re buying packets of nuts, make sure they’re not prepared with oil (greasy!) or salted (just what you don’t want if you’re performing…) or sweetened (we’re trying to avoid crashing).

M2

Published in: on 18 September 2015 at 3:08 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missminamurray.wordpress.com/2015/09/18/friday-tip-202/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

